Watercolor and Ink: The good, the bad, and the ugly.

So a few days ago I added a watercolor that I had quickly done on a whim. The original photo is still available for viewing on my Instagram account. Just search for “Papergeometryco” on there and you will find it. I felt like although far from perfect, it had some great potential for some type of doodling or ink overlay design. I was already waiting for my new Pentel Brush Pen to arrive so I decided to set the piece aside as it would be perfect for that. I have never used a Pentel Brush Pen before but after watching a youtube video I thought it looked like a fun idea. So, when it finally got here I set down very quickly to get started. Far too quickly. I really should have played around with a test piece of paper first once I got the ink in the well. The following pictures will show why. I really was disappointed at first because I loved the colors of the painting and felt like I screwed it up. And although I did screw it up, it was a good lesson. Also, I promised myself I would share the good and the bad with you, so here it is.

dsc_0583
Overall view

This next photo shows a better view of why rushing into this was a bad idea. I had far too much ink in the well which was then running out onto the brush much quicker than I wanted. This caused the ink to spread far too fast and it caused blurriness. I was not able to get any thin lines. I just hate it.

dsc_0584

dsc_0585

dsc_0586

It’s an understatement to say I was discouraged. I am not the most patient person. However, I decided to try again. I had another quick watercolor that I had made just for the sake of practice and repeated the process. The original, uninked version of that can also be found on my instagram.

dsc_0587

This still isn’t great, but there is progress. Right? I think so. This technique, and pen, require a light hand that knows how to keep just the right amount of ink in the well without letting the pen get too dry.

dsc_0588dsc_0589

Leave a Reply

