Dina Wakley Media Challenge

I was invited, along with a group of amazingly talented artists, to participate in a mixed media challenge by Dina Wakley and Ranger Ink. First, let me just say how excited I was to be included in this group. It was such a great honor.

So what’s the challenge you ask? Dina asked us to create a piece of art that shares with everyone our “why.” Why do I create? What compels me? I really put some thought into this. Why, indeed, do I create? I didn’t have to answer this literally, of course. But I decided not to worry over this project. I just pulled out some materials and let them become what they wanted. Often times when creating something that I know will be shared on social media I worry about what people will think of it. Will they understand it? I made a point with this challenge entry not to do that. And so, this is what I created. I hope you enjoy it. (Supplies noted at the end of this post.)

Also, please make a point to look on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter and look for the other challenge entries by searching #showusyourMEdia. Show some love and support for these talented artists. #dinawakleymedia #rangerink

Cover 001cover 002page one 002page one 001page two 001page three 001page three 004page three 003page four 001back cover

Supplies:

Blank mini chipboard book, Pentel Brush Pen, Dina Wakley Heavy Body Paints in Fuchsia, Penny and Turquoise. Dina Wakley Media Scribble Sticks (Magenta, Ruby, Lime, Turquoise, Sky, Night, Blackberry, Black). Dina Wakley Media stencils Jungle, Bullseye, and Moon Faces. Dina Wakley Media Stamps “Clearly All the Gals”. The rest of the items used are various brand washi tapes, hand-carved stamps, and my gelli-printed and water-colored papers.

Leave a Reply

