Gelli printed post cards

This project was my March entry for the Nstudio Creative Squad. What better time to beat my current winter blues than looking ahead to Summer and family vacations. I love the warm Summer sun, sand between my toes, and the salty ocean breeze. So, today I will walk you through making some adorable beach-inspired postcards to send to family and friends from any destination.
These fun postcards are quick and easy to make and you can use your favorite Nstudio stencils, stamps, and artfoamies to make them uniquely you. My gelli plate has quickly become my most-used art supply. I used my six by six inch gelli plate, brayer, watercolor postcards, and inexpensive acrylic craft paints to make some really standout postcards. I used Nat’s Toledo stencil, Kassel stencil, and Valley Road Artfoamies.
Photo One
I layered my paint onto my gelli plate from light to dark in coordinating colors with my brayer. I put down my stencil and pressed my watercolor postcard down. Press firmly!
Photo Two
Photo Three
I chose complimentary colors, in this case turquoise and teal, and applied the paint to my artfoamies. I applied the design in interesting places on my postcards.
Photo Four
Photo Five
After the paint dried, I decided to add some interest with black India ink. Following the spaces between the stencil gives an interesting line for the eye to follow.
Photo SixPhoto SevenPhoto EightPhoto Nine
Now all that is left is to send them out. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment